I want to change the WiFi Name and Password on my MR1700

The MR1700 comes with a default WiFi Name and Password, known as the SSID and Security Key respectively, which you can find printed on the sticker on the bottom of the MR1700.  Both the WiFi name and Security key are unique to the MR1700 and allow you securely connect to the router.  If you would like to personalize this information, follow the steps below.

Note:  Changing the WiFi network name and Security key will cause all current WiFi devices on your network to lose connection.  You will need to go to all devices and connect them to the new WiFi name using the new password.

Changing the WiFi Name & Password:

Open up a web browser (i.e. Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome, Safari, etc).  Type http://192.168.1.1 into the address box and press Enter.  You will be direct to a Login page.

You will be prompted for a password.  Type motorola into the password box and press Login.

Click Image to Enlargemr1700login.png

 

This should direct you to the Home page.

Click Image to enlargemr1700home.png

Click on the WiFi tab located at the top of the page to bring up the WiFi setup page.

Click Image to enlargemr1700wifi.png

Note: You will notice you have two separate networks listed here.  These both broadcast at the same time and can both be changed.  As shown here we use similar network names, but denote the 5G connection by adding a 5G to the end of the Network Name.

Enter a new WiFi name in the Network Name box for each network.  The WiFi name must be at least 6 alphanumeric characters.  Next, change the Security key in the Password box.  The Security key can be between 8 and 63 characters.  Once you have changed these fields to you liking, press the Save button.

You should be prompted with a confirmation screen.

wifisavescreen.png

Press the Confirm button to finish saving the changes.  Once confirmed you will get a saving configuration notification.


Click Image to enlargemr1700wifisave.png

This will take about a minute to save the information to the router.  When it completes you should have you own personalized WiFi network.  Now that you are done personalizing your network, you can click the Logout button located at the top of the page.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.